More Financial Relief under Safe Restart Agreement Funding for York Region, Newmarket and Aurora

Published on December 16, 2020

Today, Christine Elliott, MPP for Newmarket-Aurora and Michael Parsa, MPP for Aurora-Oak Ridges-Richmond Hill announced that the Regional Municipality of York, the Town of Newmarket and the Town of Aurora will receive an additional $11,239,000 in Safe Restart Agreement funding. The funding will be allocated as follows:

  • Town of Aurora, $549,000
  • Town of Newmarket, $769,000
  • Regional Municipality of York, $9,921,000

This discretionary funding will be used to offset operating costs for critical services and help ensure that Aurora, Newmarket and York Region do not carry an operating deficit into 2021.

“This funding will provide our communities with the support they need to continue delivering critical services that we all rely on everyday,” said Christine Elliott, MPP for Newmarket-Aurora. “Today’s announcement will help Aurora, Newmarket and York Region develop 2021 budgets that reflects the reality of COVID-19 and give them the confidence they need to proceed with capital projects that will drive economic growth.”

"Thanks to the Safe Restart Agreement, Aurora will be receiving $549,000 in financial relief from COVID-19,” said Michael Parsa, MPP for Aurora-Oak Ridges-Richmond Hill. “These funds are going to be vital to the success of our town's critical services, and they will ensure that we start the new year in a sound fiscal standing.”

The Ontario government is allocating an additional $695 million across the province to provide financial relief for municipalities and help ensure they do not carry operating deficits into 2021.This investment builds upon the first phase of the federal-provincial Safe Restart Agreement announced this summer.

“This joint funding will help Ontario’s municipalities recover from the impacts of COVID-19 faster, by helping them to enter into 2021 without operating deficits from this year,” said Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing. “By ensuring our municipal partners are in a sound financial position to begin the new year, they can better focus on keeping their capital projects on track while continuing to provide the critical services their residents rely on.”

Of the $695 million announced today, $299 million is being allocated across all 444 municipalities to help provide more financial relief, as 2021 operating budgets are finalized. An additional $396 million is also being allocated to 48 municipalities that have been hardest hit by COVID-19 and who have demonstrated a need for additional assistance in covering their 2020 operating deficits.


  • The federal-provincial Safe Restart Agreement is a historic partnership that secured up to $4 billion in emergency funding for Ontario’s municipalities to help them on the road to a safe recovery.
  • In August, an initial investment of $1.6 billion was provided so every Ontario municipality could address their operating pressures, support transit systems and help vulnerable people.
  • The Ontario government has provided $510 million to municipalities and Indigenous community partners through the Social Services Relief Fund to help protect the health and safety of vulnerable people during COVID-19.
  • The province has made an additional three-year, $45-billion commitment to help communities recover as part of Ontario’s Action Plan: Protect, Support, Recover. This includes critical investments in health and other initiatives, to ensure Ontario is more resilient in the future.
  • Ontario is also supporting municipalities in finding budget savings and efficiencies through the Audit and Accountability Fund and Municipal Modernization Program -- supporting municipalities with third-party audits and service reviews. Municipalities have already received $215 million through these programs.